"I Forget"! This is the most common thing you should find on an Indian Citizen's Resume's "Hobbies" section if he/she was to ever apply for another country's citizenship and it required a resume for the application. 26/11 happened and we forgot. A lot more happened before and after that and we forgot. Now Delhi. The capital of the biggest democracy in the world.
Whats to blame? The government? The vote bank politics? The bureaucracy? Or the half illiterate population? The government of course is to blame. (There is one other thing that is yet to be blamed.) But the government on the other hand is also blamed unnecessarily at times.
There is frustration building up inside of every Indian on the face of this earth. First corruption, then Security. Scar after Scar. After Scar. I want to protest. Protest the failure of the entire government at all levels. Protest the illiteracy rates. Protest the forgetful nature that has been bestowed upon us. Protest the fact that we still watch while Alliance Politics takes a dirty turn every time.
I say the government is blamed unnecessarily at times for one reason. A vigilant public is all it takes. The delhi incident this morning, I believe, could have been averted if we had a vigilant public. When we can draw sketches of people who might have placed the stuff that created havoc, it is pretty obvious that someone saw them put it there. This might sound silly and I welcome all criticism and discussion. When someone saw them place it there, why did not that person get suspicious and inform the police immediately? Was it the "mereko kaiku" (why do i care) attitude? I am sure the people who placed it there must have taken time enough to get out of its range of impact. That is ample time if we have a vigilant public. I am not sure how much of this makes sense but I would definitely welcome comments from people adding more sense to this as well as people who think I am out of my senses.
This is again a personal example for which my mom coughed up some money. Here is what happened. On our "street resident association's" request, we (all residents of our street) kept our cars on the Main Road because a new road was being laid through our street. Since Car is not the preferred mode of transport for us, the car remained on the main road unattended. A little dust and leaves made it look older. The next thing we know, we get a call from the grocery store guy saying our car was being broken into by the bomb squad. We rush and are told someone called up and suspected the car. That is vigilance. Though the bastard police stole our car audio's front panel and we could do nothing about it, I am glad someone cared about the public.
I am in no way saying the government did not fail. It did on a lot of fronts: On the fact that no action was taken on previous culprits and which in turn gives confidence to such people's peers to do such things time and again. On the fact that it could not use intel. On the fact that Mr. Chidambaram has failed on more than one occasion. On the fact that we still do not have technology to protect ourselves. On the fact that we still do not have restrictions on a person having a criminal history and contests an election.
The bottom line is, at 1.25 billion, we need a more vigilant and educated public. I am more than anxiously waiting for the 2014 elections to see who wins. And if sense prevails. If one of the existing parties comes to power again, at the center and the state, I will be ashamed. I will be disappointed.
No comments:
Post a Comment